Skip to content

Spicy Fried Rice

January 25, 2013

I needed to eat.  I had some rice.  I had some dried morel mushrooms that needed usin’.

Rooting around the kitchen pulled the rest of it together.  Some fresh garlic, dried tien tsin red peppers, a red bell pepper, clementine oranges, Chinese five spice, ground ginger and fish sauce.

Good ’nuff!

I reconstituted the morels and the tien tsin peppers, chopped up some clementines, garlic and the sweet pepper.

The hardest part of this whole thing was cleaning the tien tsin peppers.  They are spicy little devils.

So, like the start of any good Friday night, I wore rubber and got my fingers right in there.

Little olive oil, heated up the garlic.  Next, tossed in the rest of the chopped ingredients for a quick stir fry and then added the spices.  Finally, threw in a mix of quinoa and brown rice (cooked beforehand) and flash fried the rice.

Topped it with some fresh clementine slices and cilantro.

Would scarf that again.  Light, fresh, spicy and sweet.

Ingredients ready…let’s go!

Hold on thar, Hoss! RUBBER GLOVES! I always forget that part. Not today, evil peppers, not today.

Lookin’ good. Just needs rice.

Easy as fried rice! Hell yeah!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2013 1:09 AM

    Yummy! I have to try this recipe.

Leave a comment