Skip to content

Kale, kale, the gang’s all here

November 9, 2016

In case you weren’t paying attention, my canine buddy lost her cancer battle at the end of July.  This resulted in an instant demolition of my daily structure.

In the days immediate following, I allowed myself to wallow.  The result was losing touch with my workouts and my writing.  It might seem antithetical, but my newfound free time was the worst thing that could happen to my productivity.

That’s how I’m wired.  Action begets action.  Inaction…you get the picture.

So, the Friday before Halloween, I brought home a coach who promptly sorted my shit.  I’m now completely exhausted and much more productive.  Just in time for Nanowrimo and the holiday eating season.

Spirit, a three-year-old rescue Husky has run me ragged and diligently helped me dog-proof the house again.  Did you know there was still a packet of fish food on a bottom shelf?  I didn’t either.  It’s not there anymore.

My new schedule and resulting tiredness has me temporarily reshuffling my cooking.  I need quick and easy and no extra grocery trips.  So I put off my crazy ice-cream ideas and the pretzel making experiments.

Nothing is easier than sautéing some kale.  Kale sautéed with red onion, apple and red wine vinegar.  Topped with a veggie sausage.

Also super easy – a baked Portobello cap with parsley, tomato, fresh parmesan and an egg.  Plus some salsa.

Easy baked chicken thighs in a marinade of garlic, orange juice, balsamic, and soy sauce.  Used for a sammich – on toasted oat bread, with fresh baby spinach, avocado and a good mustard.

This stuff takes nearly no effort and hardly any time (other than the marinating time for the thighs).  Even Spirit can pause her shenanigans long enough to let me prepare this food.  Almost.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2016 4:33 AM

    She is so pretty.

Leave a Reply

