Skip to content

What’s Happenin’, Baba?

January 28, 2013

This is another one of those foodings that results from what’s laying about in the kitchen.

I had an eggplant.  Naturally, I asked myself, “WTF am I going to do with a freakin’ eggplant?”

Eggplant is one of those things that I consider…not at all.  I’m not sure why I didn’t substitute something else for it in my weekly veggie box.  Probably to cause this type of flailing.  At the very least, to do something different.

I had been meaning to try baking pita bread ever since I read this recipe from Food52 in my inbox.

Lazy as I felt, I settled on baba ghanoush.  This would leave me to concentrate on my kneadiness.

Baba ghanoush is super easy.  I roasted an eggplant and a bulb of garlic (both drizzled with olive oil) in the oven to soften them up.  That garlic smell is enough to drive a person to eat garlic.

Right out of the oven.

Requiring massive amounts of self-control so there would be some left to put in the blender.

I’m not saying any of that happened.  I’m just sayin’.

Into the blender it all went.  Eggplant, garlic, tahini, and spices to taste (I used cumin and cayenne pepper and salted the eggplant a little before roasting it).

Typically, you would also add lemon juice.  I didn’t have any, so I roughly squeezed the juice from a few clementines.  I didn’t hear them complain.  Neither did I.  It worked fine.

Additionally, for the garnish, I had cilantro.  So I used cilantro instead of parsley.  I dig cilantro so it was a bonus in my book.

Will it blend?  Yes, it bloody well will.

Now, the pita were….easy.  I get a little concerned whenever I do any baking.  It usually turns out fine.  These wheat pita were no different.  There just isn’t much to it.  Combine.  Knead.  Shape.  Rest.  Bake.

EAT

From simple beginnings…

Food Assembly. Look there’s black Pepper! I forgot to mention that.

Garlic in its own little foil wrap.  Can’t you smell that shizz from there?

Roasted aubergines. Yeah, we’re gettin’ fancy up in here.

BALLS!

SOOOOOOON.

Like magick

This is the end. Beautiful friend. This is the end.

Leave a Reply

