Skip to content

Mush(room) ado about nothing

September 15, 2016

Having to, unplanned, get a new refrigerator is a weirdly refreshing experience.  Like getting a first apartment with your first real fridge.  An empty canvas.

I have a habit of periodically rearranging how I use the shelves and drawers for no reason anyway.  As my usage habits change, I rearrange accordingly for max efficiency.  That’s what I tell myself anyway.  In reality, it is probably the result of manic boredom.

Either way, I’m still stocking back up and it’s reined my cooking in.  Back to a more simplistic style.  As my weekly produce arrives, I use it up on the spot.

And so we have…some simply stuffed portobello mushroom caps.

Baked in the oven at high temp (450 F or so) for about 20 minutes.  Then stuffed and put back in the oven until it looked ready (5-7 minutes more).

The stuffing is a mix of flash-sautéed minced garlic, cilantro, green onion, grated parmesan, fresh basil and bread crumbs.

The Assemblage.  The garlic was late and missed the class picture.

 

Mixing up the stuffing.  I sautéed the garlic first to mellow it out.  Drizzled in a little olive oil just to bind it up.  I also layered a few thin tomato slices in the mushroom caps before piling on the stuffing.  Because I can.

 

Looking good out of the oven.  Crisped up lightly on top.

 

I thew down some really ripe tomatoes and topped them with the remaining green onion, salt and pepper, and the bits of stuffing that were beautifully crisped and nearly stuck to the bottom of the baking dish.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

