Skip to content

I didn’t order any red sauce!

September 6, 2015

I’m fairly certain that, by the time I pass out tomorrow, I’ll have had enough grilled meats to choke a werewolf.

Today, I’m staying light.

It was time to clear out some zucchini and bell pepper from the crisper.

Making faux noodles out of zucchini is nothing new, but I’ve never actually done it.  Most of the process was ridiculously simple.  The noodled-up zucchini slices got a minute in a hot pan with some olive oil.  A half cup of water and another five minutes or so until tender.  Salted to taste.

Where I went wrong was in my approach to creating the thin slices of zucchini.  The mandoline worked.  Too well.

I muddled on with one and a half hands and though it may not be the most beautiful plate I’ve ever produced, the flavor was all there.  A quick sauté of bell pepper, cherry tomato and garlic, plus a dash of hot sauce and I could almost ignore the pitifully useless green band-aid I was forced to use.  I’ve had to change it out a few times already.

This is what happens when you’re too cool to use the blade guard, kids. Do as I say, not as I…doh!

Good enough. I tried super thin, but I liked the thicker cut better.

Just heated this stuff in a pan long enough to release some flavor.

Jumble of tasty stuff. The vibrant colors will have to cover for the lack of artistry in the arrangement.

I can type without a thumb, but this is really going to hamper my attempts to play the beta for Romero’s Aftermath.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2015 7:18 PM

    those noodles look good..i’ll take mine minus the blood :P

  2. September 6, 2015 8:28 PM

    Ouch! But the zoodles look yummy. :-)

    • September 6, 2015 8:31 PM

      It looks worse than it felt. Just messy. At least I had some good food when it was all said and done.

Leave a Reply

