Skip to content

Does it sound cooler if I call it courgette?

July 8, 2015

Maybe it just sounds French.  Either way, it’s still a zucchini and I had a couple.

I’m always ending up with piles of various types of squash.  Squash haunt my dreams and will be there lurking outside my door after the apocalypse.  Trying to sneak in.

For now though, squash are dinner.

Raw squash because I’m ruthless.  Riffed off of this NYTimes recipe.

Sliced thin with the mandoline.  Marinated for about six hours in fresh squeezed lemon and olive oil with some smashed garlic cloves, salt, pepper and chipotle chili powder.  Served it with that garlic (minced), some walnuts, sweet peas and a bit of grated blue cheese.

The zukes really shined this way.  And I don’t mean from the oil, but that too.

Accompanied with some baked sweet tater chips and seared scallops.

The beginning of the end for the zukes.

How I love to play that mandoline.

Yup, I mandolined that sweet potato too.

Tell me that one sweet tater chip doesn’t look like it’s happy as hell to be part of this gathering of foodstuffs.  Or surprised.  Either way, it’s staring at me.  I feel creeped out now…

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2015 9:20 PM

    Ah the sweet potato chips look good and I want those scallops in my tummy!

  2. July 9, 2015 7:15 AM

    YUM!

Leave a Reply

