Skip to content

Back when soup happened

December 30, 2014

My version of cookies and milk.

Hope y’all had a good whatever you were or are doing as this year wraps up.

Some time before the holiday, I made some awesome mushroom soup.  I even busted out my actual camera this time instead of my damn phone.

Yes, there was beer involved.  No, it wasn’t as crazy as The Duck Incident.  However, there was a moment when I realized everything was going full blast and I had forgotten to chop the mushrooms.

Cue a frantic flurry of chopping.  No fingers were lost, but not for want of trying.

As much as I tried to have it otherwise, this soup was ridiculously easy to make and tasted glorious.

10/10 would do it again.

Mushrooms, taters, shallots, garlic, thyme, veggie broth.

I used 3 kinds of shrooms – shiitake, button, baby bellas. Notice the shrooms shying away back there, unchopped and unready.

I spent a lot of time grooving my big, throbbing stick mixer into that pot. Worth it.

Rasputin gets blamed for a lot of things, including my shroom slip.  You can’t blame me, his eyes are mesmerizing.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2015 10:44 PM

    This looks delicious.

Leave a Reply

