Skip to content

Layering against the cold

December 9, 2014

The never-ending folly that is home ownership saw me with a broken furnace just prior to Thanksgiving.  A few short-term fixes later and I packed the dog up and headed to the hinterlands where I would drink beer and curse the cold.

As it always happens, when you need something the most, it fails spectacularly.  So it went, on-and-off for the week leading up to Thanksgiving.  The furnace was just not up to the task and it had to be put down.  Unfortunately, I couldn’t get it all sorted until the Friday following the Great Day of Turkey, Football and Family.

I did my best for a few days.  Long underwear and huddling under blankets with the dog, who loves the cold and didn’t understand what my problem was.  I even wore socks for extended periods of time.  I hate socks.  Socks are like straight jackets for your toes.  Free your toes, folks, and the rest will follow.

I even did some cooking in the middle of the day.  Technically, I was actually using the oven, so you can’t claim I was heating the house with it.  However, if, while preheating and cooking, I stood in close proximity to the oven so that I could regain feeling in my fingers (however briefly), then that’s just a lucky accident.

I had a pile of potatoes and apples that I wanted to make use of.  This was the perfect opportunity.  I even got to use the mandoline slicer.  I was lucky not to lose any of my frozen fingers.  Safety guard, we don’t need no stinking safety guard!  Oh, yes we do.  Note to self.

I piled up slices of apple, potato and onion with fresh, chopped rosemary, salt and pepper and vinegar; following the basic framework from this recipe and using what I had on hand.  I was warm for almost an hour.  The food was good too.

Onion sautéed until translucent, then adding herbs, spices and vinegar and sautéing until browned (cool a bit before layering).

All layered in the pan. A little fresh, ground pepper on top.

It looks like a ton, but it’s only 1.5 tablespoons or so of unsalted butter.  400 F for 25 minutes, covered.

The butter really helps crisp the top layer nicely – after removing the cover and baking until crisp on top, another 10-15 minutes or so.

Not exactly the Sistine Chapel of oven-baked apple-tater thingamabobs, but it tastes like heaven.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Freya permalink
    December 10, 2014 1:35 AM

    Sounds good.

Leave a Reply

