Skip to content

Purple Tater Soup

November 14, 2013

I have been piling up potatoes and onions as quickly as I can use them.

What to do with a pile of purple potatoes?

Given the recent drop in temperature, the answer is obviously soup.

Potato soup is good, I won’t deny that.  However, I wanted to add a little zing.

The purple was a good start.  Some chipotle peppers added a great smokey, spicy flavor.  I can’t get enough spicy.

There aren’t many ingredients and there really isn’t much to do.  Some basic prep work, some waiting and then the part were you put the stick in the warm pot and make magicks.

Now that sounds spicy.

I made a small batch, just about 3 servings worth.  A touch more than half a sweet onion, a couple of chipotle peppers (I used dried, reconstituted in water), bay leaves.  Chopped the onion and peppers, tossed in a pot with the bay leaves on medium (with a bit of olive oil to grease the skids) until the onion was soft.  Added a couple three garlic cloves that were roasted over an open flame and minced.  Then added two cups of water, good pinch o’ salt, and the peeled, cut potatoes.  I used the water the peppers were soaking in for about an 1/8 to 1/4 cup of the 2 cups of water to add a little more depth.

Brought to boil, then simmered 15 minutes until the taters were soft.  Then the immersion blender.  I didn’t make this smooth.  I like my tater soup a little rustic.  Either way, I usually don’t use the stick blender.  I have no real reason for this.  I always regret it.  Not this day!  This day I did not convince myself that wrangling hot soup into a blender was the better option.

While peeling the taters, I contemplated how the soup might be finished.  Whenever I do potatoes (tater salad, mashed, baked, roasted), I prefer to leave the skin on.  Not so with soup.  However, those peelings didn’t go to waste.  I would have my skin one way or another.  Peelings were julienned, tossed in olive oil with cumin and paprika and baked.  Crispy tater skin sticks were a perfect topping for the soup along with a few dollops of greek yogurt and cilantro.

Assembly.

Purple Pride. GO CATS!

Work it.

Be all you can be, tater skins.

That’s what I’m talkin’ ’bout!

And there you have it.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

