Skip to content

Old, Crusty Roast

March 3, 2013

I forgot to post the roast I made a couple three weeks back.  It got a beautiful bison chuck roast from Cook’s Bison Ranch through Door to Door.

This meal is one of those luxe looking finished products that takes minimal effort.

The roast got a coating of Herbs de Provence, garlic, salt, pepper, and olive oil.  First step was high heat of 450 degrees for about 15 minutes to crisp the outside.  Then I reduced the temp to 300 and stuck the thermometer right where the sun don’t shine and waited for it to hit the target temp.  Tented it under foil for 15 minutes.  Easy as roast.

Just because I felt like it, I cooked the roast on a bed of red onion slices.  Makes a nice little addition to the plate.

What goes with roast bison?  How about potatoes and carrots.  Worked for me.  However, I had to jazz ’em up a bit.

Roasted some purple taters, coated with a little olive oil and various spices (minced garlic, paprika, cayenne pepper, salt and white pepper), turning every 10-15 minutes to crisp on all sides until they were done.  I served the taters with a smidgen of sour cream and chopped green onion.

Baby carrots glazed with orange juice and honey.  Put carrots in a pan with a little butter, then add honey and orange juice plus garam masala and ground cardamom.  Cooked over a low heat until the liquid was reduced to a glaze, making sure the carrots were done to my satisfaction.

Trust me, this stuff is easy.  Roasting two of the three items removes any hassle of timing a bunch of shit on the stove so it all comes together at the end miraculously.

I love it when a plan comes together, but I really, really love it when I don’t have to pay an enormous amount of attention while it is coming together.

Don’t freak out, that meat is done.  Thermometers are wonderful things.  You can do it however you like it.  Besides, the bison has that awesome color to it.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

