Skip to content

Squash Soup

October 15, 2012

So, I roasted more veggies.  Had a bunch of squash and decided I wanted to make soup.  Roasting adds a depth of flavor that I like.  I also desperately wanted to avoid cutting up the squash.

Roasting allowed me to avoid that hassle.  I accomplished the roasting by cutting and gutting, dusting them up with a little salt & pepper and placing them face down in a pan of water.  Sounds like a freaky date night, don’t it?

Other than the roasted ingredients, a chopped onion got sautéed in a pan with a little olive oil, and after the onion was nice and golden…..some spices that I pulled out all willy-nilly and can barely recall.  I know there was cinnamon, cardamom, a little curry powder, cumin and two others.  You get the gist, I’m sure.  All the roastings got dumped together into the pan with the onion and some vegetable stock, brought to a boil and then blended.  I followed that up with putting it through a strainer just because I like that silky consistency.  I am also planning on using some of the hearty gunk I reserved from out of the strainer as a filling in an as yet unimagined pastry of some sort.  I saved some squash seeds for roasting or something as well.

Garnished with parsley, thinly sliced apple and some greek yogurt.  I didn’t add cream or greek yogurt to the soup itself as I didn’t think it really needed it.  Your mileage my vary.  I would never tell you what to do!  OK, I would, but I know you don’t fookin’ listen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 5, 2014 6:59 PM

    Looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

