Skip to content

It’s all in the name of RESEARCH

March 2, 2011

I’ve been mucking about with ice cream recipes and flavor profiles.  It’s not that I am creating excuses to eat more ice cream or anything.

I made a few batches using soy milk and without eggs (riffs of these recipes: coconut banana and coffee).  This isn’t my normal strategy (I also made whole wheat pancakes without eggs –> someone had no eggs, I bet), so there was some tweaking to be done.  I used a higher liquid to gelatin ration in the second batch to much better effect.  I would go with some riper bananas as well (I usually eat them on the green side, myself, but it doesn’t translate).  The addition of tartness from some dried cherries balanced the banana/coconut mixture and made me dream of banana splits, which isn’t a bad thing.

The non-dairy results freeze hard and have the feel of something less cream and more ice.  Nevertheless, they tasted just dandy and could elevate themselves with some refinement of the recipes

For Phase 2, I’ve been diligently tasting various cold-brewed coffee concoctions.  Hopefully, I will hit on something so amazing that I can finally switch to an all-ice cream diet.  Stay tuned.

Various prep pictures….

Big nut.

Saving the water.

You can't see my dong in that reflection.

Shaving the big nut.

Ice cream!

Next batch.

Warming.

Getting ready to chill.

I keep using all the eggs.

No, there's no mayo. Yes, there is bacon.

Eggs! Get 'em while the gettin's good.

Good enough to eat.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2011 6:02 PM

    That seems like an awful lot of effort to go to to make ice cream schmalz. I expected it to be, you know, simpler.

Leave a Reply

