Skip to content

The Magic Word was “fishstew”

January 11, 2011

Oh, shut the hell up.  Fish stew is totally one word.

(This was being held up in “DRAFT” status for some reason.  I am liberating it now.)

I had a serious jonesing for some kind of stew and fish.  Naturally, I combined that to reduce my workload.

I took elements from two online recipes as a guide (this and this – I know, give me a break, these two just happened to have aspects that I was looking for and I didn’t really feel like spending a ton of time thinking about it since it’s stew and you just do whatever the fuck you want with stew…it’s why they named it that or something), got a little snockered and let the thing itself dictate the results.

Let’s get to the recap.

Chopped onions, garlic and chorizo in a pot with a little hot oil.  Flamed some brandy in there (mostly just for fun, was a bit late on the ignition – fireball!)  Tomato paste, fresh thyme and oregano, Fresno peppers, squid parts – shook that around for a bit.  Deglazed the pan with white wine.  Added clam juice, yellow taters (sliced medium – they’ll get soft and break down easily).  Then salt, pepper and a whole crapload of chopped kale.  Simmered that for 15-20 minutes, then added the live clams (who had been living without complaint, so far as I know, in the fridge in a comfy wet blanket) and cod filets.  Covered the pot and waited until the clams opened up.

Garnished and ate the hell out of it with some crusty cheddar and jalapeño bread.  Shit was good.  Not too spicy, good clam flavor and stewey like it should be.  I wasn’t going to add the potatoes, but I did it last minute and was pleased with the texture they added along with the very roughly chopped kale.

 

You can just barely see the last of the flames.

Almost set for the first simmer.

Just have to add that kale. LOOK AT IT! SOOOO GREEEEEEN!

Drop in the clams and cod. Can you hear those bastards screaming?

The clams seem much more relaxed after a nice steam.

Let's get to it already. I really want some of that bread right now.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 14, 2011 7:10 PM

    You’re hitting my greed and envy buttons pretty hard with this one.

  2. January 17, 2011 7:29 PM

    But not coney stew and taters.

Leave a Reply

