Skip to content

Everybody loves you when you’re six foot in the ground

December 8, 2010
Prague - John Lennons Wall

Image via Wikipedia

If I am to believe the hype, John Lennon died 30 years ago today.

I’ve never been a huge Beatles fan and John certainly wouldn’t be my top Beatle if they got ranked BCS-style with me slaving over a complicated and secret computer formula.

Those chaps did put out a bunch of music.  Nevertheless, for every one astonishing song, they managed a passel of stunning clunkers.  The untainted early years are easier to listen to.  The other stuff requires a mood for me to get into.  I prefer music to set my mood.

I understand the outpouring of attention to some degree.  Lots of people find one or two songs inspirational or whatever.  I don’t blame them.  Music is personal.

The guy was an activist.  I appreciate people putting some effort behind their beliefs for the benefit of society (seemingly).

I just don’t feel like having this shoved in my face while watching ESPN.  Why does ESPN hate me so much?  Which came first, my hatred toward them or their hatred toward me?  Am I the only sports fan that doesn’t want my sports muddled up with dead musicians, Dennis Leary or whatever other nonsportsnonsense they are constantly prattling on about?  Isn’t it enough that I have to put up with the human wreckage of Dick Vitale, Stuart Scott, Chris Berman and a riot of ex-athletes whose best (perhaps only) original thought happened on a playing field?

What I think of most when The Beatles come up is my sister sitting me down with some records and explaining the Paul is Dead phenomenon.  It seemed exciting to my addled, young mind even though it had all occurred prior to my birth and had long since passed into legend.  It did manage to drive a life-long interest in controlling people through hidden messages and a desire to take possession of my sister’s albums (albums being these weird black discs that could produce sounds with the right application of wizardry and needlework).  For that, I salute The Beatles.

For the fans out there….

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 10:29 PM

    i must agree with you.

Leave a Reply

