Skip to content

Do you see what I see?

December 6, 2010
Attention snow blower in action ! (1) at bus s...

Image by gynti_46 via Flickr

It’s that time of year.

Snow has come to visit.

It has gotten on everything.

One of the interesting facets of the snow-covered ground is being able to see what the dog is tracking.  Her manic, drunk-weave through the park takes on a different tone when you can see the animal tracks zigzagging along the ground.

Sniff sniff.  Do we really have to put our nose in every single depression?  I guess so.  I am not the expert.

Unfortunately, there is also shoveling.  Shoveling is crap.  There is yet another set of Unspoken Neighborhood Rules regarding shoveling.  You are a bad neighbor if you don’t live according to everyone else’s schedule or if you are practical.  I’m sorry, dour-faced neighbor, but I don’t need to shovel at 6am just because you leave the house then.  I also refuse to shovel while it’s still snowing.  Twice the work.  Only a fool.

I wish I could use my snow blower.  I just hate it.  It’s fucking loud and I hate the constant struggle to avoid blasting snow all over cars, people and beloved family pets.  Not to mention the lingering stink of gasoline that can’t be scrubbed out of frozen nostrils despite liberal application of Comet and a Brillo pad during a two-day-long boiling hot shower.

At least I get some exercise and a reminder to lift with the legs.

Wanna buy a snow blower?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 6, 2010 3:06 PM

    It probably seemed like a good idea at the time.

  2. December 9, 2010 10:57 PM

    I did think of buying a snowblower recently. But only thought about it. It’s often that way.

Leave a Reply

