Skip to content

F you!

November 16, 2010
GDR "village teacher" (a teacher tea...

Image via Wikipedia

No, I you.

That’s correct.  I.

The F is just too foul for anyone to handle.

West Potomac High School in Virginia is no longer dealing out F’s to their poor students.

Earlier this year, the school all but eradicated the standard mark for “failure”, instead supplying wayward students with the letter “I” for incomplete. So what does an “I” give you that an “F” doesn’t? Time to redeem yourself, for starters. Students with an “I” on their report card can (literally) learn their lesson and catch up over the year, at which point they will be given a grade for their mastery of the material, just like any other student.

I could go on about whether this helps or hurts the poor dears who are struggling in school.  Are we coddling or removing stigmas and providing hope?  I could wonder whether this is really about teachers and schools not wanting to be failures themselves when they can’t drag their charges to the very basics, like readings and mathifications.  Might this impact funding?

I won’t bother.  Someone else can get into that shit.

I will just comment that I think all these assholes should stop worrying about scores (for both students and schools), butthurt parents and children worrying about poor little Johnny feeling sad, or asshole politicians, media and bloggers.

It’s hard for me to read stories like this and think that the decision-makers actually know what they’re doing.

TEACH THOSE FUCKING KIDS SOMETHING USEFUL, LIKE HOW TO FILL OUT THEIR UNEMPLOYMENT FORMS.

It doesn’t seem like they’ll learn much else.

98 years ago, when I was in school, the F meant you had to repeat.  Then you got a whole year to “catch up” and a life lesson that was useful.  There are not many I’s out there in the workforce, assholes.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 16, 2010 5:52 PM

    You don’t mind if I borrow a comment space for personal aggrandizement do you?

    http://hybridangel.wordpress.com/

  2. November 17, 2010 1:04 AM

    Nice buns btw.

  3. November 19, 2010 1:38 AM

    No, I mean it. I really do. It’s not like I’m jealous or anything.

    • November 19, 2010 8:19 AM

      I’ve been testing out bun versions with chocolate and almond paste, nutella, and fruit fillings. They are nicely plump and firm. Very squeezable. You just want to take a bite.

Leave a Reply

