Skip to content

Lazy Man’s Food

November 8, 2010

Sometimes making tastiness doesn’t take a ton of effort.

Granted, this isn’t “mix stuff up that you found in the cabinet” easy.  I actually had to get shit from the grocery, but I was there anyway.

I didn’t have a ton of expectation for this concoction but that never stops me.

I grabbed a cheddar-jalapeño focaccia bread and I sliced the mother f’n top off of it.  Then I laid down some hot sauce as a base (Cholula Chili Garlic).  Next came a smattering of thinly sliced sweet onion – not a whole bunch, just enough for a little taste.  Piled on fresh mozzarella over that and topped with really thin slices of tomato and some oregano.  Finally, jammed that top back on and smashed the whole thing in a panini maker.

That spicy pizza sammich was ridiculous.  I think I briefly passed out in ecstasy.  The top was an awesome crackery crunch of cheddar and jalapeño.  The core was not molten hot, but hot enough that the cheese strung out nicely as you pulled away with a chunk of sammich in your maw.

And the smell…oh, man, the smell.  It was like the smell of toasty bread making love to cheese by a Canadian lakeside on a late summer evening.

 

Gettin' ready

 

 

 

Look at those grooves, baby

 

 

 

LOOK AT IT!

 

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 8, 2010 4:51 PM

    See, you got your sammich! I couldn’t figure out what the rumpus was to begin with.

    • November 8, 2010 5:00 PM

      Listen here, not having a sammich is always a giant rumpus. Always. Regardless of how it all turns out in the end, the intervening period of NO SAMMICH is devastating.

  2. November 9, 2010 10:58 AM

    No, YOU listen here! It wasn’t my fault you were bereft of sammich. But now I have to be tormented all day with sammichly visions of cheddar and jalapeno. You are cruel.

Leave a Reply

