Skip to content

Loss and Grief

October 19, 2010

Shattered joy

This morning found me fuddling around in the upper cabinetry while waiting for the ice cream maker to cease its duties.  I was amazed to find some smaller plates that I had been unaware of.  While holding three of them in one hand like a magician fanning his cards, I examined one in closer detail in the other hand.

Naturally, I moved the multiple-plated hand toward the cabinet with the idea that I would place them back where I found them.  Naturally, I did this while still looking intently at the single plate in my left hand.

Plates intersected with cabinet edge and went crashing down to the granite counter.  Pieces parts were strewn everywhere.  In the aftermath, I realized that I had also managed a minor cut (assumed minor, since I couldn’t actually determine where it was, only that a curious, red liquid had soiled my clean-up towel).

Now, I mourn the loss of something that, minutes prior, I did not even know existed.  I was obviously taken for a ride by a most ungracious Jester this morning.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2010 6:31 PM

    and loss and grief is cockney rhyming slang for what?????

  2. October 20, 2010 6:58 PM

    The crockery thief.

Leave a Reply

